Exercise regime

Posted: 30 October 2011 in Uncategorized

It’s been some time since I thought about doing any exercise; I’ve been a member of a gym for some years, but have rarely visited it for anything other than the occasional swim.

It’s a good gym, and I genuinely believe that if you’re not going to go to a gym you belong to, it’s important that you don’t go to a good gym.

Previous attempts to actually exercise have always foundered on a combination of my own laziness, frustration at how long it would take to actually make a difference, and my own entirely unreasonable expectations of what can be achieved.

However, I have come across something that could be achievable, even while sitting at a desk. It is suggested for deskbound people to build up muscle strength in the arms and shoulders. It seems sensible and, as I say, just about achievable, so I thought I’d pass it on.

The article suggested doing it three days a week.

Begin by standing on a comfortable surface where you have plenty of room at each side.

With a 5-lb. potato sack in each hand, extend your arms straight out from your sides and hold them there as long as you can. Try to reach a full minute, then relax.

Each day, you’ll find that you can hold this position for just a bit longer.

After a couple of weeks, move up to 10-lb.potato sacks, then 50-lb. potato sacks, and eventually try to get to where you can lift a 100-lb. potato sack in each hand and hold your arms straight for more than a full minute.

After you feel confident at that level, put a potato in each of the sacks, but be careful.

Comments
  1. Vix says:

    Wasn’t that the punishment used by P.E. teachers in the 1950’s? Anything that could be recognised as a punishment is generally something I won’t be doing in my leisure time!

    More seriously, would you get a bike? Good for short trips, saves petrol or sore feet and gets you fit without having to go to the gym!

  2. Less seriously – you may not have read all the post…

    More seriously – yes, am considering that.

  3. Vix says:

    I’ve had a stressful weekend, I read it to mean add another potato… Blonde roots are clearly showing!

    Shame we don’t live closer, I’ve just bought a bike; we could have encouraged each other!

Leave a Reply

