A challenge met, and a free coffee

Posted: 1 November 2011 in Uncategorized

Although I’ve spent much of my computing life dealing with PC and Windows, a few years ago a friend got me to buy my first iPod mini by the simple method of suggesting that I cease thinking of it as being able to carry “1,000 songs” and instead think of it as “4.000 minutes of sound”.

This genius – Alasdair Watson by name – is, therefore directly responsible for me owning in succession, several iPods, followed by several iPhones (I currently have an iPhone 4, purchased in August, quite deliberately just weeks before they announced the iPhone 4S), a couple of iPads… and being featured in Tap! Magazine.

A few weeks ago, Tap! put out a request – “challenge us to do something using only an iPhone”.

I was in a whimsical mood so I replied

“Find out where I drink coffee every day and come buy me one.”

Apart from anything else, I figured at best I’d get one over on them and at worst, I’d get a free coffee out of it.

You can follow the rest of the tale in the piece below, wherein the story is revealed…

The gentleman who tracked me down was very polite, and a pleasure to meet.

And yes, I got my free coffee.

Aren’t some people nice?

Comments
  1. *amused chuckling*

    Congratulations on the coffee acquisition!

  2. Congratulations on the free coffee…..but…..this whole thing unsettles me somewhat more than I was anticipating. The ease at which a stranger can find your name, home address, workplace and so on for £1.99 in apps is just utterly terrifying. Surely this is a wake up call for better online personal security???????

    • In general, quite possibly.

      Personally, doesn’t bother me in the least. I was faintly surprised that he’d found me, but only faintly so – I’d forgotten about that particular pic (the Whetstone one) until about an hour before he turned up, and I did give him a clue that it was within five miles of where I lived.

      However, the work/personal/home link – if I cared about people linking me if they put the work in, I wouldn’t have those details out there.

      I never had work details on Facebook, and kept that private, simply because I didn’t want work people accessing it, or tracing me through work.

      In more than five years, only one person at work found me and attempted to add me. I called them into my office, explained that I didn’t “friend” colleagues and that was that.

      But as a general rule, I never blogged about work unless it was under a friends lock, and never put personal stuff on LinkedIn.

  3. Littlepurplegoth says:

    There’s an internet game in this…

Leave a Reply

