Ten… nine… eight…

Posted: 15 November 2011 in life, don't talk to me about life, personal
Tags: ,

Ok, this blog has been in existence for almost six weeks now, and while I intended it to be different in tone from the previous incarnation, I reserve the right to occasionally do something very reminiscent of the old place, especially when there’s a reason.

Between Facebook, the blog, twitter, and formspring, there’s a fair bit of information about me out there, and sometimes, it’s useful to collate it and answer some unasked questions.

Livejournal seemed, at times, to survive on memes, on the “here’s a series of statements about me”. Now while I don’t intend for a moment for this blog to be full of them, here’s one today.

There’ll be more interesting content tomorrow, I promise…

TEN FIRSTS
First best friend: Robert Hewison
First screen name: 100712,271 (hey, it was on compuserve, ok?)
First Pet: Unless little brothers count, I’ve never had a pet.
First Piercing: None… and not going to get one – as stated previously, while I don’t have any strong view on them for other people, they’re definitely not for me. Same as tattoos.
First Crush: Ann Robinson. No, not that one, but the one in my class at school. I have no idea what she thought of me, but I doubt it was complimentary…
First Record: Rentasanta, Chris Hill. Yes, honestly. Shut up.
First paying job: working in my dad’s hair salon, but first proper job? Sainsbury’s.
First Car: First car I owned? A Vauxhall Viva. A workhorse, but it did the job. And it was cheap.
First Love: Karen Sinclair. She was 15, I was 17. We broke up when I was 18, about a week before she was 16.
First stuffed animal: I can’t actually remember having one as a child. Currently I have a bear named “NEM bear”. You may speculate as to the reason for both the bear and the name. Feel free, but don’t expect confirmation.

NINE LASTS
Last alcoholic beverage: About eleven months ago. ScotchCokeNoIce. Yes, that is one word, I’ve checked.
Last car ride: From home to Arnos Grove underground station, a couple of hours ago.
Last movie seen: In the cinema, The King’s Speech; on blu-ray, Wall-E.
Last phone call made: To my voicemail.
Last CD Played: An audiobook by James Patterson.
Last Bubble bath: Can’t ever remember having a bubble bath.
Last time you cried: About a month ago. No, I’m not going to say about what.
Last cigarette: About 10 minutes ago.
Last text message: From O2.

EIGHT HAVE YOU EVERS
Have you ever dated one of your best friends: No.
Have you ever fallen asleep standing up? Yes.
Have you ever been arrested: No.
Have you ever skinny dipped: Yes.
Have you ever been on tv: Yes.
Have you ever kissed someone, and then regretted it: No.
Have you ever had a sex dream about someone: Yes.
Ever regretted any of the above? No.

SEVEN THINGS YOU ARE WEARING
1. Black cotton long sleeved shirt.
2. Black trousers
3. Black socks
4. Boxers (Gentle Readers, you may now play ‘guess the colour’)
5. My Star Of David chain around my neck
6. Belt
7. Shoes.

SIX THINGS YOU’VE DONE TODAY
1. Woke up.
2. Took painkillers.
3. Drunk coffee.
4. Drunk more coffee.
5. Took more painkillers.
6. Worried about a friend.

FIVE FAVOURITE THINGS IN NO ORDER
1. My son
2. Writing
3. Friends you can rely upon to give you advice you need, even when you don’t want it.
4. Being able to talk to people thousands of miles away merely by pressing a few numbers on a telephone
5. Deserved praise for a job well done.

FOUR PEOPLE YOU CAN TELL ALMOST ANYTHING TO
1. You know who you are.
2. Ian
3. [censored to protect the innocent]
4. [censored to protect the guilty]

THREE CHOICES
1. Black or White: Black
2. Hot or Cold: Cold
3. Chocolate or Vanilla: Vanilla

TWO THINGS YOU WANT TO DO BEFORE YOU DIE
1. To have Phil tell me, in about 20 years, “You know, Dad, you didn’t do that bad a job of being my father, you know…”
2. To be able to genuinely believe someone when they compliment me about something non-work related.

ONE THING YOU REGRET
Not being able to remember precisely the last conversation I had with my brother before he died. (I know I chatted to him a couple of days earlier, but it would be nice to remember what were the last words we said to each other, you know?)

Comments
  1. Cheryl says:

    For that last thing, in all seriousness, have you tried hypnosis? Someone with the proper training might help you recall that conversation.

    • Me and hypnosis have a mixed history. :-)

      Given that in all likelihood it was a two minute phone call (me and Mike had a habit of calling each other to swap jokes), and it was 14 years ago, unlikely, I’d have thought…

Leave a Reply

