Art attack

Posted: 24 November 2011 in comics, personal, phil
Tags: , ,

Today – or rather this afternoon – has seen a bit of a change in the flat in which I live.

After having given in to the inevitable, I bought a new set of bookshelves, and moved some books and DVDs/blu rays around… but it didn’t seem enough somehow.

For the first nine months after I moved into the two bedroom apartment in Barnet, I kept the walls bare – not sure why, but as we approached the end of 2005, and I was going to have people with me for New Years’, I went out with Phil and we bought a stack of frames, and stuck up some various photos and comic art.

That was in December 2005, and with the occasional small change, the art’s remained the same since then.

Time for a change.

So, below is a snap of my living room, and the art I now have hanging on it. Sincere apologies for the lack of quality of the pictures – they’re in no way representative of the superb quality of the actual images. If you want to see the original art, well, pop around some time…

So, let’s start with a picture of the flat itself:

Feel free to ask any questions about the flat you care to, but the art? You want a bit more detail?

OK, since you ask:


From the pen of Bevis Musson, The Endless. I love this.

Then (in the general pic above) you have a couple of photos of my son Philip, a recent one (updated every few months) and a shot of him and my late brother, a couple of weeks before the latter’s death.

Next you have the gorgeous pencils of Paul Duffield, a double page spread from Signal, purchased this weekend at Leeds.

Moving across to the adjacent wall, we have:

The original art by Robin Riggs for You’ll Never Believe A Man Can Fly. So happy with this piece…

A page from my first ever published story in comics – It’s Murder Out There, by Tony Rollinson, and A Grendel sketch by Matt Wagner, obtained at a con…

A page from another Trailer Park of Terror story, this one It’s Been Done Before, art by Mannie Albeda… and a Daredevil con sketch by David Mazzuchelli

Wish these looked nicer: con sketches by Gary Millidge, Staz Johnson and Tom Grummett

Moving around again, the wall behind the couch:

Who else? A con sketch by Mike Oeming

A group shot of images done for You’ll Never Believe A Man Can Fly, by Messrs Sam Hart, Travel Foreman and Jamie McKelvie

Another piece done for You’ll Never Believe…, this beautiful art by Lea Hernandez

Now we’re out of the living room and into the hallway near the front door… A hypotheticals panel…

Con sketch by Barry Kitson, remember AzBats?

Who else but Jill Thompson?

A shot of Phil – aged 10 – coming out of the TARDIS by then Doctor Who artist Mike Collins who’s been kind enough to do so many sketches for me over the years… and who’s one of the finest drinking companions at a con you’ll ever find…

And – finally – a couple of pages from the X-Men Unlimited tale I wrote: pencils by Travel Foreman, inks by Tim Townsend, and colours by Danimation

Not a bad set, is it? And that doesn’t yet include the wonderful print I have coming from Jamie McKelvie…

This piece:

Comments
  1. Ginger_wookey says:
  2. Briz says:

    Jeepers, I don’t see anything by me up there. I guess that means I need to get off my keister and do some new artwork for you. Maybe it’s time for a second appearance by Budgie from Bumpkin Buzz.

    I love Phil emerging from the TARDIS. Does he have a favorite hero that he likes? Cheers, my friend.

    • If you have the original art with my “appearance” in it, re ZERO HOUR, I’d be vairy interested… :)

      At the moment, at 16 years old, Phil’s heroes all are from Wrestling. So yeah, he’s well into fictional heroes.

  3. Selina says:

    My first though on the photo was… it’s not right to have empty space on bookshelves, but then you have only just bought them :-)

    You mentioned your plans to do this at Thought Bubble so it’s nice to see the results. Loving Bev’s Endless pic and the Signal artwork.

  4. Elayne Riggs says:

    So cool to see Robin’s piece again!

    • It’s one of the very few pieces in the living room that’s not only stayed up, but in the same place. It’s perfect where it is.

      Was so pleased when Robin brought over to the UK the original art to give it to me. Most of the art I have of You’ll Never Believe A Man Can Fly are prints of the works – Robin’s is one of the originals. Am so grateful to him.

Leave a Reply

