All about meme

Posted: 28 November 2011 in life, don't talk to me about life, personal
Tags:

I mentioned a while ago that i may do one of these every often, in lieu of any actual content, and while i did have something ready to post, on reading it, I wasn’t happy that the arguments hung together well. And given that the subject was “lazy thinking”, I’d rather wait until I’m sure of my arguments.

And I’ve been busy today organising this (of which you’ll no doubt hear more about in forthcoming days), and babysitting for my nieces this evening, so haven’t really had the time to nail it down.

So instead, you get this…

100 questions, 100 answers

1. What time did you get up this morning? Just before seven. Had a bad night’s kip, tossing and turning most of the night, waking every hour or so – pretty much the usual. Not a good night’s sleep, no. And finally woke up with my foot hurting.

2. What is your favourite TV show? Right now? Still The Daily Show, which never fails to entertain. Over a period of time? Dunno. Drama? Probably The West Wing. Sitcom? A tossup between Cheers, Just Good Friends and Yes, [Prime] Minister.

3. What do you usually have for breakfast? A cup of tea. Or coffee. Sometimes I’ll grab a couple of slices of toast or a bowl of cereal. But a cup of tea, or coffee, is mandatory.

4. What is your middle name? Don’t have one. Despite what others may assume, my middle name isn’t “Budgie”. Honestly.

5. What food do you dislike? Yoghurt. Just the thought of it turns my stomach. Also anything spicy. I am cursed with a relatively bland palate. Yes, that means that I don’t like curry*. Or chilli. Or anything with what my friends would refer to as… taste. (I once broke up with a girl at college because she insisted that I’d “like this curry”…)

6. What is your favourite CD at the moment? I maintain that you’ve still got to go a long way to beat Hot Rocks 1964-1971 by The Rolling Stones

7. What characteristic do you despise in people? Intolerance. Everything I dislike in people (including, but not limited to, lazy thinking) stems from that.

8. Favourite clothing? Pretty much what you’ll find me in most days: black shirt, black trousers. If warranted, black jacket, either cloth or leather.

9. Favourite brand of clothing? Probably Burtons, since that’s where I get the nice black shirts and trousers. But if I had unlimited funds, etc.? I do like Hugo Boss suits.

10. Where would you retire to? No idea; haven’t a clue, except that it would be nice to be within easy driving distance of Phil though.

11. Favourite sport to watch? None. I’m not a sports person. At all. If I have to watch sport, then either tennis, darts or basketball.

12. What does the last text message you received say? “OK then. First I’ve been told.” Text from Phil.

13. Most memorable birthday? Can’t narrow it down. Any of them post-Phil’s birth. There are few things as nice as your son singing Happy Birthday to you, and giving you a card he’s made.

14. When is your birthday? In about eight and a half months.

15. So, what do you want for your birthday? I don’t. You won’t buy it for me, so no point in mentioning it.

16. Exciting news you’d like to share with us? See the link above… it’s news – up to you to decide whether or not it’s exciting.

17. What is a day on the calendar you are looking forward to? See the link above…

18. What was the last thing you ate? Pizza – took my nieces to Pizza Express this evening.

19. Last person you spoke to on the phone? Phil.

20. What is your favourite soft drink? Dr Brown’s Cream Soda. But you can’t get it over here, dammit.

21. Favourite restaurant? Don’t really have one, but I’m quite prepared to accept that’s because I haven’t eaten in enough good ones.

22. Colour of your hair? Rapidly greying to the point where I’ve started to describing it as grey with bits of dark in it.

23. What was your favourite toy as a child? Lego. No question.

24. Chocolate or Vanilla? Vanilla.

25. What did you do last night? Helped Phil fill out his Sixth Form choices application form, went to Golders Green to buy some rye bread and a challah. Then home to listen to The Westminster Hour and What The Papers Say before bed…

26. What are you afraid of? Other than the usual thing of ‘something seriously bad happening to Phil’, it’d be wasps and bees, probably.

27. How many years at your current job? I left my last job a few months ago, after almost seven years as Director of Finance and Administration, but almost twelve years at the company.

28. Favourite day of the week? Don’t really have one.

29. How many towns/cities have you lived in? Luton, Manchester, London (Chadwell Heath, Highgate, Barnet)

30. Do you make friends easily? No, not easily at all. And I’m not an easy friend to have, either.

31. Was the first person you talked to today male or female? Female, a neighbour as I left the flat this morning.

32. Have you ever seen your friends naked? On occasion.

33. Are you nervous about anything? Lots of things. Nothing in particular right now, though.

34. Are you jealous of anyone? Can’t top a friend’s answer when she did this: The usual raft of envy regarding other people’s good fortune, intelligence, academic prowess, family relations, published writing, and effortless ability to be likeable, but not actively and specifically “jealous”.

35. Wallpaper on your cell phone? This:

36. When was the last time you were in a swimming pool? Couple of months ago. Swimming is sometimes a problem because of the foot. Not for the reason most people think, i.e. my swimming, but other people swimming by, when the wake snaps my ankle round…

37. Where does most of your family live? Parents live in Luton, my younger brother in Stanmore.

38. Could you live with roommates? I doubt it. I don’t expect to live with someone else again. Ever.

39. Do you have a flip phone? No, but I have in the past, a Razr.

40. What are you doing this weekend? No idea at all.

41. When is the last time you ate a sandwich? Made myself one last night.

42. When was the first time you voted in a general election? 2010 General Election.

43. How has the week been? Last seven days? Busy.

44. When is the next time you will make out? “Make out”? That’s something the young ‘uns do, yeah?

45. What’s a word that rhymes with “HI”? High.

46. What’s your favourite planet? Other than Earth? Don’t have a favourite.

47. Who’s the 2nd person on your missed calls list? Laura, my ex-.

48. What shirt are you wearing right now? Black shirt.

49. What do you “label” yourself as? When employed, my job title. Since work, “a writer”. When Phil’s with me, “Dad”. In comics, “professional hanger-on”.

50. Name the brand of shoes you’re currently wearing? Karrimor

51. Bright or dark room? Bright as possible… however, it’s not unknown for me to be working late and suddenly realise that the room is dark… Seriously, I like a really bright room at home. The reason I have energy efficient light bulbs at home is so I can stuff sockets designed for 60W bulbs with 30W energy efficient bulbs… each of which give off the luminescence equivalence of 150W “normal” bulbs. My living room has several lit of an evening.

52. If you’re alone in a room with two beds, which one do you sleep on? Assuming they’re identical, the one furthest from the door.

53. What were you doing at midnight last night? Reading.

54. What’s a word or phrase that you say a lot? “Nu?”

55. Who told you he/she loved you last? Phil.

56. How many drugs have you done in the past 3 days? Tobacco and cocodamol.

57. Favourite age you have been so far? No idea; there’s been good and bad in every year.

58. Your worst enemy? A few people I actively dislike intensely, but no actual enemies.

59. What is the last thing you said to someone? “Night.”

60. Are you photogenic? Lord, no.

61. Last song you listened to? Titoli

62. When was the last time you edited your MySpace page? I don’t do Myspace.

63. What are your favourite Pjs? I don’t have any.

64. What do you do when you pass graveyards? Depends which one. If it’s the one in which Mike is buried, I’ll nod to ‘him’ as I drive past.

65. Have you ever seen a shooting star? No.

66. Which hurts the most, physical or emotional pain? Physical, every bloody time.

67. Song lyrics stuck in your head? None at the moment.

68. List five things you want to do in your lifetime: (in no particular order): No.

69. Is a flat stomach important to you? [looks down]. Obviously not.

70. Do you eat raw hot dogs? No.

71. Do you like sushi? No.

72. How much salad dressing do you put on your salad? None.

73. Who are you waiting to call you? No-one, actually.

74. Were you named after anyone? Yes, for my mum’s maternal grandmother, Leah.

75. If you were another person, would YOU be friends with you? The temptation is to say “no”, but I honestly don’t know; I’m hopeless at judging myself objectively in any way.

76. Where is your second home? Don’t really have one, although I know I’m always welcome at Laura’s.

77. What is your favourite dessert? Apple pie with ice cream.

78. What do you think of hot dogs? The owners should be prosecuted for leaving them in the car.

79. Have you any tattoos? No.

80. Have you any piercings? No.

81. Do you trust others easily? No. I find it incredibly hard to trust people when I first meet them.

82. What class in school do you think is totally useless? Geography.

83. What’s your favourite ice cream? Carte D’Or Banana. That they no longer make it is irrelevant.

84. Number of pillows you sleep with? Two on each side of the double bed.

85. Are you paranoid? Why do you want to know? Why? Why? Huh? Huh?

86. On what day were you born? Monday

87. What kind of hair/eye colour do you like on the opposite sex? No particular preference, but if the eyes are communicative, can send messages? I’m a sucker for that. However, even then I’m usually hopeless at interpreting such messages.

88. Do you speak another language? I speak fluent rubbish.

89. What do you get complimented about most? These days? Mostly about Phil or hypotheticals. It’s been a while since the writing was a major source of compliments, but it’s nice to hear them nonetheless.

90. How many children do you want? Just the one I have will do me fine, thanks.

91. What is the most pain you have ever experienced? Breaking my foot – felt like I’d plunged it into molten lava.

92. Favourite thought provoking song? Georgy Girl by The Seekers, for very strange reasons.

93. Do you have siblings? One dead, one still alive.

94. What is your favourite pizza topping? Sweetcorn, pineapple and extra cheese.

95. Who is the last person you made mad? Clinically insane, you mean? Oh, I don’t do that. Not anymore. Not since the court case.

96. What are your weaknesses? Way, way too many to list here.

97. Favourite Pets? I’ve never had a pet.

98. Do looks matter? Other than in “the Kingdom of the Blind?” Yes. Always, always, always, and anyone who says otherwise is lying.

99. What’s the last furry thing you touched? Boris Bearson. (and there are very few people reading this who’ll get that reference.)

100. If you had to live in any past time period, which would it be? 1960s

Leave a Reply

