So, I’ve been doing some writing…

Posted: 11 February 2012 in elephantwords, fiction, personal, writing
Tags: , , ,

Have been neglecting this blog for about a month or so – had a few things to sort out, and some writing projects I was trying to get my head around.

But that was then, and this is now…

But before I return to full time blogging, some catchings-up for you all.

So, what have I been up to?

Well, leaving aside the rewrite of the novel I wrote, You’ll Never Believe A Man Can Fly, working on a second novel – provisionally entitled The Price of History, continuing with one graphic novel and researching another, writing a short screenplay, and a longer screenplay, and continuing to plug both volumes of The Fast Fiction Challenge, there’s…

The Art of Fast Fiction
A few months back, Si Spurrier and I had a chat about the Whitechapel message board, and specifically about getting me involved in it. One after another of potential ideas was thrown up in the air, looked at from various angles, and then allowed to fall to the ground, smashed into a lot of very small, quite unpleasantly smelling pieces. And then we came up with the concept of getting some of the very talented artists who frequent Whitechapel to draw some of the fast fiction stories I’d written. That seemed a good idea, but it didn’t seem fair that the artists would be the only people challenged. So although the first story was a reprint of a story from the fast fiction challenge, we’d choose one of the people who submitted an art piece in one round of the art challenge… to challenge me with a title and word for the next challenge.

And so it’s worked.

First challenge – Dancing To Silence

Second challenge – The Indecisive Backpacker

Current challenge – Our Lady of Artillery This challenge is still open – closes 18th February.

Elephantwords
As mentioned in a previous post, I’ve returned for a weekly stint on elephantwords.

So far, I’ve written four stories, and you can click on the titles below each pic to see the story.


Empty chairs at empty tables


The appointment


Arrival and departure


Murder, they said

Paragraph Planet
Oh, yes, and I wrote a very, very short something for these folks…

I wanted to reach over, to hold her hand. But I didn’t. I wanted to take her in my arms and kiss her. But I didn’t. Instead we uttered trivialities, both of us avoiding what we wanted to say. We spoke… carefully, memories and hopes underscoring every word. The bell rang; we exchanged a long look. Then she left the room, and I went back to my prison cell, both of us heading for home.

And I’ve agreed to write a short love story for Tiny Little Love Stories.

So… what have you been up to?

(Back tomorrow… with something.)

Comments
  1. Jenni says:

    Yes that’s a whole lot of writing you’ve been doing! No wonder you haven’t been blogging.

  2. Well, while the writing will continue, and hopefully increase, the blogging has returned… hopefully on a daily basis..

Leave a Reply

