Fast Fiction Challenge Classics – Why I Chose Insanity

Posted: 25 February 2013 in fast fiction, fiction, writing
Tags: , ,

One of the delights in writing the fast fictions is the responses I get from the challengers when they read the resulting tale.

And my favourite response, the one I hope to get from every story, is “Oh, I didn’t expect that from the title I gave you…”

It’s safe to say that the challenger who gave me this title never anticipated the following. Rather nicely, nor did anyone else.

Title: Why I Chose Insanity
Word: mariachi
Challenger: Challenger: @LiQweet
Length: 200 words exactly

I was going to hurt her, I knew. She’d forgive me, but for a while, there would be no love in her eyes, merely anger and disappointment.

Moments earlier she had lifted her face and had smiled.

I knew she was thinking the same as me: that last night in Mexico City, the mariachi band, when we’d danced the night through. First time we’d actually enjoyed dancing together, when her natural self-consciousness and my clumsiness had both seemed to evaporate in the mood of the night.

We stared at each other for a long moment, then a car backfiring down the street broke the mood, and we smiled before she lowered her head again.

She lifted her hand to brush back a stray lock of hair, and tucked it behind her right ear, while her tongue was endearingly stuck in the corner of her mouth.

I wasn’t sure how quite to play it.

Nasty?

Or Saint?

I had no choice, not if I wanted to retain her respect.

I sighed, checked the board again, looked down at my tray, picked up my seven tiles and began to place the letters, and to claim my 132 points:

I, N, S, A…

© Lee Barnett, 2010


“There are two hundred stories collected in this volume. They are funny, they are thoughtful, they are romantic, they are frightening. To me, though, they are more than entertaining. They are inspiring.” – Wil Wheaton, from his introduction to volume 2 of The Fast Fiction Challenge

Two volumes of The Fast Fiction Challenge, containing 180 stories in Volume 1 and a further 200 stories in Volume 2, are available from lulu.com, and in some countries on Amazon. ebooks available from the author; email for details.


Buy the ebook of You’ll Never Believe A Man Can Fly for £4.99 – click here

Leave a Reply

