24hrFFC 02: Captain Salte’s Slug

Posted: 15 March 2013 in 24hrFFC, fast fiction, fiction, writing
Tags: , , , ,

Title: Captain Salte’s Slug
Word: lettuce
Challenger: Emma Kennedy
Length: 200 words exactly

The Slug was twenty-eight feet long and, like her owner, had seen better years. The lettering on her side similarly betrayed both their ages and baroque nature, shocking lime green lettering belonging to decades earlier peeling away from a blood red hull.

The description in the catalogue was blunt: “Friendship sloop. Old. No minimum sale price.”

I asked the man behind the desk about the seller, and he raised a lazy hand, indicating the bar across the street. “In there,” he said, motioning with his head, “you can’t miss her.”

I nodded my thanks, and crossed to the bar, wiping the sweat from my brow. I didn’t like the Caribbean. Never had.

The man was right – I spotted the captain as soon as I walked from the bright sunshine into the cool dark that smelled of rum and of the sea. She matched the boat: a tricorn hat the colour of lettuce, a coat the shade of rubies, and breath that smelled faintly of seaweed.

The two belonged together: the captain and her boat.

I paid her bar tab, then returned to the sale house, and gave him enough to keep him happy.

Then I took my mother home.

© Lee Barnett, 2013


This is the second story in The Twenty-Four Hour Fast Fiction Challenge. There will be twenty-two others… Sponsor me to complete them!

Comments
  1. […] 02 Title: Captain Salte’s Slug word: lettuce Challenger: Emma […]

Leave a Reply

