24hrFFC 16: Texting My Ex

Posted: 16 March 2013 in 24hrFFC, fast fiction, fiction, writing
Tags: , , , ,

Title: Texting My Ex
Word: underwhelming
Challenger: Neil Gaiman
Length: 200 words exactly

It used to be so easy, texting him, back when we were closer. I’d think nothing of texting him as I was heading home from work, asking him if he fancied a drink, or a coffee, or more. This was when we were closer, as I said.

He was the only one who never complained about my atrocious spelling – I never did get the hang of predictive texting. Sure there were times we argued still, times when exasperation could turn to annoyance and all the reasons we became exes emerged to take centre stage in the plays of our lives.

That was when it was horrible, when the slightest irritation grew in importance again, and marital support that was underwhelming at best and sheer apathy at worst reminded us of the pain. But on the whole, we still liked each other, and we liked being close.

We’re not close any more and I miss that, more than I anticipated. I miss getting his replies to my texts, funny replies, that showed how close we still were.

Still two hundred miles straight up will do that. We mail each other now. From the International Space Station, it’s cheaper than texting…

© Lee Barnett, 2013


This is the sixteenth story in The Twenty-Four Hour Fast Fiction Challenge. There will be eight more stories… Sponsor me to complete them!

Comments
  1. […] 16 Title: Texting My Ex word: underwhelming Challenger: Neil […]

Leave a Reply

