24hrFFC 18: My Wife Never Knew

Posted: 16 March 2013 in 24hrFFC, fast fiction, fiction, writing
Tags: , , , ,

Title: My Wife Never Knew
Word: pollen
Challenger: Mark Watson
Length: 200 words exactly

She always suspected, of course, but my loving and devoted spouse was never entirely convinced of the truth one way or the other. Even when the jury came back with the unanimous guilty verdict, there was that small kernel of doubt, an irritation like a mild pollen allergy; just enough to keep her awake at night. But now, I wonder whether she’s still tormented by the uncertainty or whether after years have gone by, turning into the decades of a life sentence, she’s come to accept that she’ll never be sure.

Of course the truth is that I was guilty as hell – I killed the old man for his money and never regretted doing so. He’d been blackmailing me for years and when I discovered that he’d been extorting others as well… the opportunity to take a chance on getting away with the killing was too good to pass up. There would surely have been too many suspects to narrow it down to me.

Ah, if I’d only known; unfortunately, I know myself only too well; even had I known, I would probably have still done away with him.

I wish my wife hadn’t been found guilty, of course…

© Lee Barnett, 2013


This is the eighteenth story in The Twenty-Four Hour Fast Fiction Challenge. There will be six more stories… Sponsor me to complete them!

Comments
  1. […] 18 Title: My Wife Never Knew word: pollen Challenger: Mark […]

Leave a Reply

