24hrFFC 20: Sale On Horse Beaks

Posted: 16 March 2013 in 24hrFFC, fast fiction, fiction, writing
Tags: , , , ,

Title: Sale On Horse Beaks
Word: crepuscular
Challenger: David Arnold
Length: 200 words exactly

Come in, come in. No, you’re not too late; I was just shutting up shop but for such an obvious gentleman of taste? Your first time… well, no mind, sir. I’m happy to introduce you to the wonders of nature. Well, I say nature, but here at Doctor Moreau’s World of Pets, we don’t believe in being hidebound by the limitations of chance and casual fortune… or should I say casual misfortune?

I mean to say, sir, who’s harmed by having a crepuscular chipmunk? Now, being totally honest, sir, yes, indeed, you do need to give them special feed otherwise they’ll starve to death, but it really isn’t all that expensive. (Not compared to the little bastard you’re buying, I mean.) No, I didn’t say anything, sir, you must have misheard.

Of course, you’re not limited to animals with minor changes to correct, shall we say, nature’s lottery. We have some excellent examples where we’ve heightened the aggressive genes. These vicious fighting sloths, sir. Yes, do be careful.

Over there? Alas, not all our benificent gestures come to fruition. We were attempting to recreate the hippogriff. Unfortunately, however… You’re interested? Well, we do have special offers on them right now…

© Lee Barnett, 2013


This is the twentieth story in The Twenty-Four Hour Fast Fiction Challenge. There will be four more stories… Sponsor me to complete them!

Comments
  1. […] 20 Title: Sale On Horse Beaks word: crepuscular Challenger: David […]

  2. […] remember, when we left me yesterday, I’d just completed story 20, for David Arnold, and I was feeling pretty good – I was actually ahead of schedule by about an hour. And it […]

Leave a Reply

