Budgie and the Bible Basher

Posted: 18 September 2013 in life, don't talk to me about life, personal
Tags: ,

Another blast from the past today, sparked by the following tweet:

From YourDictionary (adjusted for British spelling):

pros·e·ly·tise (prs-l-tz)
v. pros·e·ly·tised, pros·e·ly·tis·ing, pros·e·ly·tis·es
v. intr. To induce someone to convert to one’s own religious faith; to induce someone to join one’s own political party or to espouse one’s doctrine.
v. tr. To convert (a person) from one belief, doctrine, cause, or faith to another.

Judaism frowns upon such activities, and Jews are not supposed to try to convert others. That in itself might explain why it pisses us off so mightily when others try to do it to us. I’ve no problem with people who are religious, merely with those who try to convert others to their religion. Now, this has come up in conversation a few times, and I always mean to post about it, so here it is.

Budgie’s encounter with a bible-basher once on the London Underground….
This happened a few years ago, when possibly I wasn’t the lovable, amiable easy-going (!) Budgie that you now know…

I know it had been a long day and I was very irritable. That has to be understood to appreciate the following. Now I can’t remember why I was irritable. Quite possibly, I’d been given a telling off at work… Maybe I’d had a bad night’s sleep the previous night… I can’t remember now, but whatever the reason, I was on a short fuse.

I got on the underground, the Tube, to go home and almost immediately upon opening my evening newspaper to read, I found a bible-thumper in front of me.

And the conversation went something like this:

Him: “Do you believe in God?”

Budgie: “Not now, eh?”

Him: “Ah, but if not now, then when?”

Budgie: “Leave it out, mate, ok? I’ve had a bad day.”

Him: “Ah, but God will make it right. He and His Son, Jesus Christ, will make everything OK.”

Budgie: “Look, I’m reading my paper. Go away. Please.”

Him: “Ah but Jesus never goes away. He is everywhere.”

Budgie: “No, really – not interested.”

Him: “Jesus is always interested in you. Just open your heart to Him and…”

(At this point, I thought I’d try one more time without getting nasty.)

Budgie: “You’re onto a loser mate, I’m Jewish.”

Him: “So was Our Lord Jesus…”

(I finally lost my cool.)

Budgie: “Yes, and we nailed him to a tree two thousand years ago. If you don’t want the same to happen to you, Piss. Off.

You have never seen a look like that which appeared on this bloke’s face. He stammered a bit and stumbled away. I glanced up and saw a half dozen people looking at me, some with barely contained amusement, some with poker faces. I looked at one of them and apologised immediately for any offence I’d caused. “No apology necessary,” came the response, “I’m a Christian myself and was just wondering if I’d get away with the line next time one of these loonies bothered me on the Tube… do you mind if I steal the line?”

Comments
  1. […] no, at times I just wish I had something clear precise and easy to use to slap them down. You know, a bit like when I did years back when faced with one of them on a tube train. So I wrote […]

Leave a Reply

