At year-end…

Posted: 31 December 2014 in going cheep
Tags: , ,

Not often that I cross post from going cheep, but for once, why not…?

As I write this, we’re about fourteen and a half hours away from the new year. 2015. A hell of a lot has happened in 2014, some good, some bad. Pretty much the same as most years, and I’d lay money that 2015 will be the same. Only the ratio ever changes.

It’s been a long time since I’ve ended a year saying “no matter what happens next year, it’s got to be better than this year.” That year was 1997, and nine days into the new year, my big brother died. Now, I’m not a superstitious person by nature (or even supernature) but since then, I’ve never thought that what’s to come can’t be worse than what’s been. Of course, it can be better – in fact often it is. But sometimes it is worse.

I got a lot of writing started in 2014, and even finished some of it. I expect – and hope – than in 2015 I’ll finish even more of what I start, and since I’ve already got eight – eight! – projects part written, I’m expecting some new things to happen on the writing front.

And those unfinished projects don’t include two that I’d lots of notes written about before two notebooks containing those notes were stolen. So, if I want to write those projects, there’s a lot of research to redo, and a lot of writing to make up.

Some months ago, when I started Going Cheep, at the start of August, it was intended to be something to kickstart the writing part of my brain. Sometimes it’s been exactly that, but more often than not, it’s been a prose equivalent of This Is My Jam, allowing me to put down in words an earworm of something that’s been occupying my mind.

So, the end of 2104. And the start of 2015. I’m not arrogant enough to think that I could give any words of advice for 2015 that will matter more than the new year messages from people liked and respected far more widely than me, but what the hell, why not?

Be nice to people, when you can. Attack arguments rather than people. Never confuse agreement for friendship, or vice versa; you’re allowed to disagree with friends about anything, and still remain friends. Learn to read fluent tyop, and know that even before you learn to read it, you’re fluent in writing it.

Know that you are liked, and stop worrying about why people like you; it’s enough that they do.

I hope you have a peaceful, good 2015, with happiness and wonders thus far unimagined.

Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

