GE2015 minus 26: fictional interlude

Posted: 11 April 2015 in fast fiction, fiction, general election 2015, politics
Tags: , , , ,

And so we’re half way through my countdown to May’s general election. Twenty-five entries (including this one) and almost all of them have been to do with politics or the election itself. 

Time to reward you for staying with me so far, I think, with a past fast fiction. Here’s a story of exactly 200 words, that – while not ostensibly about politics or elections, or the ‘domestic tranquility’ so beloved of Americans – looks just a little into a future where the constant argument as to the primacy of  personal freedoms or security has been settled.  

The Guard

The security guard looked unpleasant, as if he hoped that his very presence would dissuade people from approaching him.

He eyed me up as I got nearer to him, his contempt almost palpable, and held out his hand for my card. I’d been through this too many times and gave it to him, receiving a casual grunt from him in acknowledgement.

He looked at the photograph on the card, then turned the card over and slotted it into a reader by his side. The reader beeped twice and then he held it up to my eye.

After it beeped again, he reversed the reader and I punched in my PIN. Twelve numbers.

Three separate checks. Three of them, just to ensure that I was allowed to pass through the door. Unreal.

After the reader beeped a third time, the guard ostentatiously moved to one side and with a mocking look in his eyes, raised his hand to his cap. He turned away and opened the door.

As it opened, I felt the familiar sensations, a conflation of relief and irritation.

I threw a “see you tonight,” over my shoulder at my wife and children and left the house for work.

© Lee Barnett, 2005

Back tomorrow with something if not more political, then at least about the forthcoming election.

Leave a Reply

